Mission Statement

Watch our student industry recruitment video

Member Universities

Donate Today to the Next Generation of Insurance Professionals

Be a Supporter of Education



While I suspect you might have an appreciation as to how special this particular award is for our students, I don’t know if you can really appreciate the full extent to which a scholarship can change a student’s life. The money AND the special attention afforded them by the ICT may very well launch their careers. It makes a difference. ~ Dr. Nat Pope, Professor Insurance & Risk Management UNT



Mission Statement

Since 2007, the Insurance Council of Texas Education Foundation has granted over $1,000,000 in scholarships to over 500 students enrolled in insurance and risk management courses at Texas colleges and universities. The Education Foundation also offers academic achievement awards to the business schools to enhance their insurance and risk management programs. 
View current and past scholarship recipients here.



Member Universities

Today, the Education Foundation awards scholarships to students at nine Texas schools: Baylor University, St. Mary’s University, Texas Southern University, the University of Houston, University of Houston-Downtown, the University of North Texas, the University of Texas - Dallas, the University of Texas – Rio Grande Valley, and the University of Texas - San Antonio.


UNT scholarship recipients pictured: Bobby Guerrero, Frederic Soto Saenz, Stacy Rodriguez, Rachel Hughes and Jon Seversike



Help the Education Foundation support the Next Generation of Insurance Professionals with a tax-deductible donation today by clicking here. The Education Foundation is a 501(c)(3) tax exempt organization, governed by a Board of Trustees. Scroll down to view our honor roll of generous supporters.


100% of your donation goes to scholarships and academic achievement awards!  



For more information on the Education Foundation, or to receive contact/résumé information on ICT's most recent scholarship recipients, contact Camille Garcia at (512) 444-9611 or cgarcia@insurancecouncil.org.


2019 Supporters of Education

Doctorate Level

Master's Level

Bachelor's Level


Friends of the Foundation

William G. Parrillo
Safeway Ins Group

Albert Betts, Jr.
Insurance Council of Texas

Ron Cobb

Shirley Bowler
Texas Surplus Line Reporter and Ins News

Angie Dietz
Insurance Council of Texas


Rick Gentry

Jim Foltz
Schafer, Wood & Associates, Inc.

Wendall Braniff
Braniff Attorneys

Jeff Golden
Texas Farm Bureau


Michael Gerik
Texas Farm Bureau

Tony Gonzalez
United Property & Casualty Insurance Company

Lynette Brewer
Hochheim Prairie

Richard Hitch
Houston International Ins Grp


Paula Harmon
Insurance Council of Texas

Timothy McCoy
Hochheim Prairie

Craig Daughtery
Texas Farm Bureau

Sharon Johnson
United Fire & Casualty


Jack Ikenaga
ACCC Insurance Company

Terry Porter
Insurance Council of Texas

Camille Garcia
Insurance Council of Texas

Marvin Kelly
Texas P & C Ins Guaranty Assn


Joseph Johnson
United Fire & Casualty Company

Linda Von Quintus
Auto Club Indemnity Company

Yvonne Guibert

Scot Moore
Lighthouse Property Ins Corp


David Lavergne
The Travelers Companies, Inc.

Debra Richardson
The University of Texas at Dallas

Mark Hanna
Insurance Council of Texas

Steve Nichols
Insurance Council of Texas


Keith Mitchell
Union Standard Insurance Group

Linda Schmidt
Hochheim Prairie

Pam Lahodny
Hochheim Prairie

Wayne Ottoway
CNA Insurance Co


Craig Sparks

David T. Weber
Hochheim Prairie

John Schramm
CNA Insurance Co

Ronald Patterson




Byron Smith
Columbia Insurance Group

Davida Redwine
Insurance Council of Texas




David Sommer
St. Mary's University





Jay Thompson
Thompson, Coe, Cousins & Irons. LLP





Lonnie Van Houten
General Reinsurance Corp





Bruce White
Texas Farm Bureau




Dec 5-10

NAIC 2019 Fall National Meeting
JW Marriott, Austin, TX

Dec 10-13

NCOIL Annual Meeting
JW Marriott, Austin, TX

Dec 10

TWIA Quarterly Board Meeting
Omni, Corpus Christi, TX