Haigood Honored with Raymond Mauk Award


The Insurance Council of Texas (ICT) awarded Lyndell Haigood, former regional vice-president for governmental relations at State Auto, with the 2017 Raymond Mauk Leadership Award Thursday, July 13, in Austin, at the 25th Annual Insurance Council of Texas Mid-Year Property and Casualty Symposium. Haigood becomes the twentieth recipient of the prestigious award.

ICT presents the Raymond Mauk Leadership Award each year at its Mid-Year Property and Casualty Insurance Symposium. It is ICT’s highest honor and is intended to bestow recognition on those who have made a significant contribution to of the Texas property and casualty insurance industry.

ICT Executive Director Albert Betts and Jay Thompson, with the law firm of Thompson and Coe, offered remarks on how Haigood ascended from a distinguished banking career to become a leader in the Texas insurance industry.

Haigood is a graduate of Midwestern State University in Wichita Falls where he attended school on a tennis scholarship. Haigood graduated with a bachelors’ degree in Management Science and later received his graduate degree from the SMU, Southwestern Graduate School of Banking.

Haigood’s business career started in 1969 with the City National Bank in Wichita Falls where he rose through the ranks eventually becoming the bank’s Chief Operating Officer. His technological skills led to the development of various applications for the bank, where he wrote computer programs in nearly 20 different languages.

In 1997, he changed careers and entered the insurance industry, after being asked to serve as Chief Information Officer for Beacon Insurance. In 1999, Haigood was elected to serve as the company’s President and CEO. He led the company through some of the roughest times for many in the industry and helped produce record profits.

In 2007, State Auto purchased Beacon and Haigood became the new company’s branch manager for the Southwest region. His efforts helped State Auto to successfully enter the Texas market. At State Auto, he previously served as regional vice-president for personal lines, and also served on ICT’s Board of Directors, the Texas Windstorm Insurance Association (TWIA) board, was President of the Association of Fire and Casualty Companies in Texas (AFACT), and chair of the AFACT Legislative Committee, before retiring in 2015.

Albert Betts commented that “Lyndell was dedicated to ensuring that the Texas insurance industry was a key part of the Texas economy. His efforts on many industry boards and organizations, helped to make the Texas market one of the strongest in the nation. On behalf of the ICT board of directors and members, we are proud to honor him with this special award.”

About the Award

The Raymond Mauk Leadership Award honors former Texas Fire Commissioner Raymond S. Mauk and annually recognizes someone who has made a notable contribution to the Texas property and casualty insurance industry.

Mauk enjoyed a long and distinguished career and held many positions of leadership within his company and industry organizations.

More than 80 years ago, Commissioner Mauk was convinced that fundamental change was needed to protect the insurance buying public and the integrity of the marketplace from the misapplication of rates and forms.

To accomplish his goal, Mauk envisioned the creation of a central checking office that would enforce good business practices and audit the insurance industry’s paperwork for errors and competitive greed. Faced with opposition and a resistance to change, Mauk labored for two years to build support from both agents and companies.

By February 1935, Mauk’s leadership had led to the successful establishment of the Texas Insurance Checking Office, an institution, which continues to serve the Texas industry today.


ICT Events


ICT Webinar - Register here!
Changing an Insured’s Bad Behavior: Distracted Driving


2021 P&C Insurance Symposium
Register here!


2021 Workers' Comp Conference
Register here!

Industry Calendar


UHD Webinar - Managing Risks at General Dynamics
Register here.


AAA Texas Virtual Distracted Driving Summit
Read more here.