The 29th Annual ICT/AFACT Property and Casualty Insurance Symposium was held September 1-2, 2021. The Symposium is the largest fundraiser for the ICT Education Foundation and all corporate sponsorships and individual donations earmarked for the foundation go entirely toward supporting scholarships and academic awards to students and nine Texas universities. Our 2021 fundraising goal is $90,000 and through your contributions, you've helped us achieve this goal. Your generous support is appreciated!



Since 2002, the Insurance Council of Texas has been awarding scholarships and grants to Texas university students and business schools to enhance their insurance and risk management programs. Formed in 2007 as a 501(c)(3) non-profit, the Education Foundation has awarded over $1.3 million in awards to promote careers in the insurance industry.


The 2020 ICT Education Foundation Impact Report highlights the Foundation’s accomplishments and spotlights our efforts to support the next generation of insurance professionals. Click here to read the report.


It has been an honor to serve on the Foundation since its inception. Sharing the opportunities found in the industry is great, and helping students with scholarship awards is even more fulfilling. ~ Tony Gonzalez, SVP UPC, President ICT Education Foundation


The mission of the Insurance Council of Texas Education Foundation is to promote careers in the P&C insurance industry through scholarships and other financial support to university students registered at Texas universities that offer risk management/insurance programs.

I am pleased to support the ICT Education Foundation for over ten years. Their work, to promote careers in the insurance industry, creating a viable employment pipeline and helping students recognize the opportunities available in this industry is critical. John Stuckemeyer, Counsel State Farm,
ICT Chair of the Board of Directors




Today, the Education Foundation awards scholarships to students at nine Texas universities: Baylor University, St. Mary’s University, Texas Southern University, the University of Houston, University of Houston-Downtown, the University of North Texas, the University of Texas - Dallas, the University of Texas – Rio Grande Valley, and the University of Texas-San Antonio.


I don’t know if you can really appreciate the full extent to which a scholarship can change a student’s life. The money AND the special attention afforded them by the ICT may very well launch their careers. It makes a difference. ~ Dr. Nat Pope, Professor Insurance & Risk Management UNT



Help the Education Foundation support the Next Generation of Insurance Professionals with a tax-deductible donation today. The Education Foundation is a 501(c)(3) tax exempt organization, governed by a Board of Trustees. 100% of your donation goes to scholarships and academic achievement awards!

Doctorate Level

Master's Level

Bachelor's Level


Friends of the Foundation


Albert Betts
Insurance Council of Texas

Lynn Brewer
Hochheim Prairie Insurance

Ronald H Cobb

Marianne Baker
Texas Dept of Insurance

Mike Gerik
Texas Farm Bureau

Rick Gentry
Retired - ICT

Angie Dietz
Insurance Council of Texas

Camille Garcia
Insurance Council of Texas

Tom Behrend
Acuity, A Mutal Insurance Co


Paula Harmon
Insurance Council of Texas

Terry Porter
Texas Insurance Checking Office

Cynthia Haywood
Insurance Council of Texas

Richard Bunch
The Woodlands Ins Co


Joseph Johnson
United Fire & Casualty Co

Debra Richardson

Connie Johnson
Connie Johnson & Associates

Janice Carroll
Guy Carpenter & Company


Keith Mitchell
Union Standard Ins Grp

Linda Schmidt
Hochheim Prairie Insurance

Chris McClellan
Incline Insurance Group

Angie Cervantes
Insurance Council of Texas


Craig Sparks
Retired - Union Standard


William Parrillo
Safeway Insurance Co

Stuart Colburn
Downs & Stanford PC


David T. Weber
Hochheim Prairie Farm
Mutual Ins Assoc


John Stuckemeyer
State Farm

Nedra Francisco
Insurance Council of Texas


Lonnie Van Houten
General Reinsurance Corp

Allen Halbrook
Incline Insurance Group


Bruce White
Texas Farm Bureau

Jonna Kay Hamilton
Nationwide Mutual Ins Co


Mark Hanna
Schafer, Wood & Associates, Inc


Paul Harrison
Aspen MGA


Mary Hernandez
Insurance Council of Texas


Brian Keefer
Allied Trust Insurance


Andrew Kirkpatrick
Old American Cnty Mutual
Fire Insurance Co


Eleanor Kitzman
Resolute Underwriters


DJ Marshall
Acuity, A Mutual
Insurance Co


Katherine Nolan
The Woodlands Ins Co


Byron Smith
Columbia Insurance Group


Louis Smith
Americlaim of Dallas/Fort Worth


Linda Vallejo
Insurance Council of Texas

Nichole Van Roekel
Acuity, A Mutual
Insurance Co


Michelle Watson
Germania Insurance Co


Angela Webster
Akerman LLP


James Whamond
General Reinsurance Corp


2020 Supporters




In 2019, we began a new ICT tradition, recognizing individuals who have donated to the Education Foundation for 10 consecutive years -- our Legacy Partners.  This year, we announced the following industry leaders, as 2021 Legacy Partners.

















germania2              1200px-Farmers_Insurance_Group_logo.svg