Gerik Honored with Raymond Mauk Award


The Insurance Council of Texas (ICT) announced Mike Gerik, executive vice president at the Texas Farm Bureau Mutual Insurance Company, as this year’s 2018 Raymond Mauk Leadership Award recipient. ICT presented the Mauk Leadership Award to Gerik during its 26th Annual ICT/AFACT Property and Casualty Insurance Symposium. Gerik is the twenty-first recipient of the prestigious award.

The Mauk Leadership Award is the industry’s highest honor and is intended to bestow recognition on someone who has made a significant difference to the business of insurance in Texas.

Tom Bond, an attorney with the international law firm of Greenberg Traurig, LLP and former Texas insurance commissioner, introduced Gerik at the award ceremony. Bond said service and thoughtfulness were just two of the qualities that made Gerik a leader in the Texas insurance industry.

Gerik graduated from the University of Texas at Arlington with a Bachelor’s degree in Business and Management. Upon returning home to West, Texas, Gerik traveled nearby Waco to find his first job, where he advanced in responsibilities at Texas Farm Bureau Mutual Insurance.

Gerik began his career as a trainee in policy service, and subsequently moved on to positions in underwriting, research and development, vice president of administration, and vice president of policy services. In 2006, Gerik became executive vice president and head of Farm Bureau’s Texas insurance operations.

Gerik has served the people of Texas and the industry by working tirelessly on numerous industry boards, including the Texas Property and Casualty Insurance Guaranty Association (TPCIGA), an Association of Fire and Casualty Companies in Texas (AFACT), the Texas Automobile Insurance Plan Association (TAIPA), the Property Casualty Insurers Association of America (PCIAA) and ICT.

In 2010, Gerik was appointed by Insurance Commissioner Mike Geeslin to the Texas Windstorm Insurance Association (TWIA) board of directors, where Gerik served as board chairman, and continues to serve on the TWIA board today.

ICT executive director, Albert Betts, commented, “I have worked with Gerik on both the ICT and AFACT boards, and have always appreciated his thoughtfulness, devotion to quality work, and commitment to making sure the industry did its best for its customers. On behalf of ICT and its board of directors, we are honored to recognize Gerik with this award.”

About the Award

The Raymond Mauk Leadership Award honors former Texas Fire Commissioner Raymond Mauk and annually recognizes someone who has made a notable contribution to the Texas property and casualty insurance industry.

Mauk enjoyed a long and distinguished career and held many positions of leadership within his company and industry organizations.

More than 70 years ago, Commissioner Mauk was convinced that fundamental change was needed to protect the insurance buying public and the integrity of the marketplace from the misapplication of rates and forms.

To accomplish his goal, Mauk envisioned the creation of a central checking office that would enforce good business practices and audit the insurance industry’s paperwork for errors and competitive greed. Faced with opposition and a resistance to change, Mauk labored for two years to build support from both agents and companies.

By February 1935, Mauk’s leadership had led to the successful establishment of the Texas Insurance Checking Office, an institution, which continues to serve the Texas industry today.

ICT Events


ICT Webinar - Register here!
Changing an Insured’s Bad Behavior: Distracted Driving


2021 P&C Insurance Symposium
Register here!


2021 Workers' Comp Conference
Register here!

Industry Calendar


UHD Webinar - Managing Risks at General Dynamics
Register here.


AAA Texas Virtual Distracted Driving Summit
Read more here.