Skip to content

Education Foundation

Since 2002, the Insurance Council of Texas has been awarding scholarships and grants to Texas university students and business schools to enhance their insurance and risk management programs. Formed in 2007 as a 501(c)(3) non-profit, the Education Foundation has awarded over $1.3 million in awards to promote careers in the insurance industry.

ICT Education Foundation and all corporate sponsorships and individual donations earmarked for the foundation go entirely toward supporting scholarships and academic awards to students and nine Texas universities. The Education Foundation is a 501(c)(3) tax exempt organization, governed by a Board of Trustees. 100% of your donation goes to scholarships and academic achievement awards!



Today, the Education Foundation awards scholarships to students at nine Texas universities:

  • Baylor University
  • St. Mary’s University
  • Texas Southern University
  • University of Houston
  • University of Houston-Downtown
  • University of North Texas
  • The University of Texas at Dallas
  • The University of Texas at Austin
  • The University of Texas at Rio Grande Valley
  • The University of Texas at San Antonio.

I don’t know if you can really appreciate the full extent to which a scholarship can change a student’s life. The money AND the special attention afforded them by the ICT may very well launch their careers. It makes a difference.
~ Dr. Nat Pope, Professor Insurance & Risk Management UNT


The mission of the Insurance Council of Texas Education Foundation is to promote careers in the P&C insurance industry through scholarships and other financial support to university students registered at Texas universities that offer risk management/insurance programs.

I am pleased to support the ICT Education Foundation for over ten years. Their work, to promote careers in the insurance industry, creating a viable employment pipeline and helping students recognize the opportunities available in this industry is critical.
John Stuckemeyer, Counsel State Farm, ICT Chair of the Board of Directors

2022 Supporters of Education

Albert Betts
Insurance Council of Texas


Paula Harmon
Insurance Council of Texas

Brent McClure
Atlas General Agency

Angela Doss
Nationwide Mutual Insurance Company

Tom Fitzpatrick
Chubb Lloyd's Insurance Company of Texas

Rick Gentry
Retired - Insurance Council of Texas

Michael Gerik
Texas Farm Bureau

Antonio Gonzalez
United Property and Casualty Insurance Company

Joseph Johnson
Retired - United Fire Group

Craig Sparks
Retired - Union Standard

David Weber
Hochheim Prairie Insurance


Janice Carroll
Guy Carpenter and Company

Scott Gainey
Kemper Corporation Group

Rich Johnson
Insurance Council of Texas

Timothy McCoy
Hochheim Prairie Insurance

Terry Porter
Texas Insurance Checking Office

Debra Lee Richardson
Retired - University of Texas at Dallas

Linda Schmidt
Hochheim Prairie Insurance


Shirley Bowler
Texas Surplus Lines Reporter and Insurance News

Price Butler
ClaimCor LLC

Angie Cervantes
Insurance Council of Texas

Noelle Codispoti
The National Alliance for Insurance Education and Research

John D'Amato
Texas Property and Casualty Insurance Guaranty Association

Angie Dietz
Insurance Council of Texas

Nedra Francisco
Insurance Council of Texas

Steven Haynes
University of Texas at Dallas

Patrick Herter
Acacia Insurance Managers, LLC

Jarrett Hill
Texas Farm Bureau

Connie Johnson
Connie Johnson and Association Inc.

Eric Kegler
Baker Tilly

Amar Kothapalli
Baker Tilly

Gerald Ladner
State Auto

Juan Padron
SafeGuard Insurance Agency

William Parrillo
Safeway Insurance Company

John Schramm

John Stuckemeyer
State Farm

Tanya Thomas
Baker Tilly

Linda Vallejo
Insurance Council of Texas

Debra Vardeman
United Fire Group



Wendall Braniff
Braniff Attorneys

Nan Brunson

Stuart Colburn
Downs and Stanford PC

Christopher Davila
Union Standard Insurance Group

Mike Frasor
Safeway Insurance Company

Jeff Golden
Texas Farm Bureau

Lyndell Haigood
Retired - State Auto Insurance Company

Paul Harrison
Aspen MGA

Cynthia Haywood
Insurance Council of Texas

Mary Hernandez
Insurance Council of Texas

Kaelan Kearney
Baker Tilly

Brian Keefer
Allied Trust Insurance Co

Marvin Kelly
Texas Property and Casualty Guaranty Association

Cass Kuhlke
Travelers Boiler Re

Lee Loftis
Independent Insurance Agents of Texas

John Marlow
Chubb Lloyd's Insurance Company of Texas

Wayne Ottoway

Abraham Padron
SafeGuard Insurance Agency

Ty Simmons
Union Standard Insurance Group

Byron Smith
Columbia Insurance Group

Matt Stillwell
Insurance Council of Texas

Laci Terry
Texas Farm Bureau

Gabriel Vargas
Liberty Mutual Ins Co

Michelle Watson
Germania Insurance Company

Gina Wilken
State Farm

Donna Wright
International Risk Management Institute

ICT Honors Legacy Partners

ICT recognized those that have generously supported the ICT Foundation over the years. As part of our appreciation, we recognized the following 5 and 10-year Legacy Partners for their donations to the foundation:

10-Year Donors

David Weber, Hochheim Prairie

Wendy Braniff, Braniff Attorneys

Linda Schmidt, Hochheim Prairie

5-Year Donors

William Weldon, Travelers

Ty Simmons, Union Standard

William G. Parrillo, Safeway Insurance

Byron Smith, Columbia Insurance Group

Scroll To Top